PLC Using Sensor for a simple project

thewalkerist

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie in automation stuff and i wanted to do a simple thing with just a sensor, a blade and a plc.

My aim is this - The chocolate bar will come in and my sensor will see it. After my sensor sees the chocolate bar i will give a command in plc that will release(cut the bar) and bring it the blade up. This process will continue on until the chocolate bars are over. The conveyor will not stop at all so bars will keep on coming and the blades will keep on cuttin ;););) .

Now i have some big problems with this tho.

My first problem - I didnt work with any sensors before so i dont know how to make that happen. Both the sensor and the blade is digital signals so i dont need to work with any analog scaling or stuff like that. Thats why i said this will be a simple process. But i need some kind of reference or example. I am thinking of doing simple stuff like put a condition(sensor energized or not) and if its energized release the blade and pull it back up. I wont need any alarms or stuff like that since this will be for myself but in the future if i need stuff like that i would do upgrade the system :nodi: .

My second problem - I said
I am thinking of doing simple stuff like put a condition(sensor energized or not) and if its energized release the blade and pull it back up.
. Now this brings up another set of problems. How will i do that exactly? i mean i just put a condition and say like, hey if the sensor is 1 than just turn the blade 1 and than instantly make it 0? Or is there some sort of function block or smthng like that i can use for this type of thing? Maybe ONS- one shot? i do not now.

My third problem - What kind of sensor would i need? This is not that important since i have time to search up my sensors but if anyone used sensors for this type of stuff i would like to know