machine superstition

I worked in a shop where the boss logged all machine breakdowns - not my response time or repair time, just how often each machine broke down.

He called me in when he noticed an ongoing trend across the shop.

As soon as one machine or line was fixed the machine next to it broke down immediately. If the loader on a line was down as soon as it was running the unloader broke down.

The breakdowns were not related in any way nor the machines connected together even.

With a straight face I told him it was jealousy - the other machines were jealous another machine was getting all the attention.

Then I added that was the only possible explanation because there was no other explanation at all

I worked on a homebrewed ASRS for stacks of particleboard early in my career (up in Sault Ste. Marie !). One of the complaints I got after we finished commissioning was that the storage cart was "afraid of the new forklifts".

Wait, what ?

"Sometimes when we drive by on one of the new forklifts, the cart just takes off in the other direction. Doesn't happen with the old Hysters."

The system had been built with a long-range retroreflective laser distance sensor to determine the position of the storage cart. For some reason they'd installed the reflectors it used on a wall on the far side of a cargo and personnel aisle.

I had tuned the sensor to ignore no-return conditions where the beam was blocked or absorbed by people or vehicles or spilled stacks of particleboard. I had not tuned it to reject a reflection from the high-viz sticker tape on the new fleet of forklift trucks.

That reminds me of a commissioning project where I had a graduate engineer helping me. Nothing really tricky, just roller conveyors moving tubs around in particular patterns.

Whenever I stood and watched, the conveyors behaved perfectly. As soon as my graduate took over, things would immediately go south.